蝴蝶計劃
蝴蝶計劃
Variety Hong Kong charity for disadvantaged children and young adults, Butterfly Program

計劃宗旨

為無力負擔私家醫療服務的兒童和青少年提供初步精神健康評估和適切治療

蝴蝶計劃於2016年成立,是維樂天首個服務計劃,目的是為21歲或以下、懷疑受精神健康問題困擾的兒童和青少年,免費提供初步評估及適切治療,掌握治療黃金期,直至他們可銜接至公營精神科服務。服務對象主要是正在苦候公共醫療服務,卻又無力負擔私營醫療或精神科服務的基層家庭。

計劃簡介

在香港,懷疑受精神健康問題困擾的兒童和青年,往往要輪候超過一年才能在公立醫院進行臨床評估。患有自閉症、專注力不足或其他精神健康問題的兒童,由確診到正式接受治療,更要再等18個月之久。在許多個案中,公營精神科門診服務的輪候年期有機會長達三年,而這段時間對較年幼的病童而言,正是治療黃金期,過長的輪候時間往往延誤了治療的最佳時機。蝴蝶計劃就是在這樣的背景下誕生。

維樂天招募了一群精神科專科醫生,協助合資格兒童和青少年及早接受評估和診治,直到患者銜接至公營醫療服務。 同時,計劃致力支援這群有需要兒童的家庭和照顧者。.

為消除精神病患污名化的現象,並建立包容的社會文化,我們亦會到學校及社康服務機構進行外展工作。

「我7歲的兒子確診患有專注力不足/過度活躍症。奈何公立醫院精神科排期超過兩年,私家治療的費用又太昂貴,令我束手無策。我們不知道能向誰求助,也不知道該怎麼辦。維樂天蝴蝶計劃實在解決了我們的燃眉之急。」

受惠家庭

計劃成效

維樂天成立蝴蝶計劃五年以來,服務超過1,500名患者,為他們提供所需的醫療服務。大部分病童在三個月內,症狀已有明顯改善。

94%受惠者表示對蝴蝶計劃感到滿意或非常滿意。參與計劃後,受助家庭的壓力有所紓緩,生活亦得到重大改善。

此外,維樂天與其他非牟利機構合辦了13項活動,惠及2,000人,當中包括1,200名學生。我們亦舉辦了逾32場研討會,幫助6,500名參加者,當中包括4,000名學生。

我們致力推行社區教育,提升大眾對精神健康的關注,從而加強大眾對常見精神健康狀況的認識和接納。計劃推出五年來,我們在學校和社區中心為老師、社工和學生舉辦超過100場講座,接觸逾10,000人。隨着大眾對精神健康有更深入的了解,病童不會再被標籤成異類,校園欺凌亦能隨之減少。

維樂天青年大使

2020年,維樂天推出青年大使先導計劃。

參與學生能透過體驗式學習及培訓,培養出樂於欣賞的思維,學會發掘他人的獨特之處和優點,以及尊重人與人之間的差異。

計劃鼓勵學生發揮創意,在校內進行有關精神健康及反污名化的推廣活動。

Variety Hong Kong charity for disadvantaged children and young adults, Butterfly Program

蝴蝶計劃活動花絮

Variety Hong Kong charity for disadvantaged children and young adults, Butterfly Program

你的參與

改變從今天開始。

不論你的年齡、背景,或者身處何方,
你都可以出一分力,請即行動!

Butterfly Program
Butterfly Program
Variety Hong Kong charity for disadvantaged children and young adults, Butterfly Program

Our purpose

Providing early mental health assessment and interim medical treatment for children and young adults who cannot afford private health care

Our very first initiative, the Butterfly Program was created in 2016 to provide early assessment and interim treatment of children and young adults 21 or under with suspected mental health challenges. We work solely with low-income families who do not have the financial means to obtain medical or psychiatric services in the private health system, while waiting in the long queue to be treated under the public health system.

PROGRAM overview

The program was created because children and young adults with suspected mental health problems have to wait more than a year for clinical assessment in Hong Kong’s public clinics. For those diagnosed with autism, attention deficit disorder or other mental health conditions, there is a further wait of nearly 18 months for treatment and, in many cases, the waiting time for public psychiatric outpatient services can be as long as three years. In younger children, those years can be critical, and treatment often comes too late.

Variety Hong Kong has recruited a network of psychiatrists to provide early assessment, consultation and treatment to qualifying children and young adults until they can be looked after by the public health services. We also provide support for the families and caregivers of those with mental health challenges.

And, finally, the Butterfly program also includes outreach to schools and community health organisations designed to de-stigmatize mental health issues and build a culture of inclusivity.

My seven year-old son was diagnosed to have ADHD but we would have to wait more than two years to see a public psychiatrist. Our family couldn't afford private treatment so I felt quite helpless. We did not know where to find help or what we should do. The Variety Butterfly program has been a great help to our family.

- A beneficiary family

Making a difference

In the first five years of the program, we have been able to support over 1,500 patients and young people with much-needed medical services with many seeing improvements in their symptoms within three months.

That has led to 94% of those we help being satisfied or very satisfied with the Butterfly Program. We have also seen stress levels of affected families lowered, making a significant impact on their lives.

Variety Hong Kong has also held 13 events in collaboration with other NGOs, helping a further two thousand people including 1,200 students. We have also hosted more than 32 seminars, supporting 6,500 people including 4,000 students.

Our efforts in Community Education to promote mental health awareness, thereby increasing knowledge (and acceptance) of symptoms associated with the common mental illness, have been substantial. Over the 5 years, Variety has conducted over 100 of talks at schools and in community centres, targeting teachers, social workers and students. We have reached out to over 10,000 stakeholders. With better understanding of mental wellness, no student should be stigmatized as abnormal. This will help reduce school bullying.

Variety Youth Ambassadors

A pilot Youth Ambassador Program was launched in 2020.

Through experiential learning and training, students develop an appreciative mindset for individual’s uniqueness, strengths and differences.

They are empowered to use creative ways to promote mental wellness and anti-stigmatization initiatives in the school environment.

Variety Hong Kong charity for disadvantaged children and young adults, Butterfly Program

THE BUTTERFLY PROGRAM IN ACTION

(Butterfly Program / April 2021)

(Butterfly Program, Dec 2019)

(Butterfly Program, December 2019)

(Butterfly Program, August 2019)

(Butterfly Program, July 2017)

(Butterfly Program, May 2017)

(Butterfly Program, December 2016)

(Butterfly Program, August 2015)

Variety Hong Kong charity for disadvantaged children and young adults, Butterfly Program

GET INVOLVED

Make a difference today.

No matter how old you are, what your background is or where you live,
you can help—and you can start right now.

Contact Us

Feel free to fill in the form below and we will make sure to get in touch with you as soon as possible.