History

VARIETY HONG KONG

Variety – the Children’s Charity Hong Kong Limited (Variety HK) is a registered charity (91/14278) and the local chapter of Variety International, an international charitable organization, which operates in 14 countries with 45 offices.

Variety HK was established in 2015 by a group of business professionals working in Hong Kong. They come from a diverse background but all shared the same vision: that every child deserves a future without limits, irrespective of the barriers that may be placed in their way! We leveraged the franchise of a well established international charity Variety International, and built a local “tent” here in Hong Kong.

Our goal is to identify the gaps in unmet needs of disadvantaged children, to provide access to opportunities, to empower them to develop and live to their full potential. We raise funds locally in Hong Kong, all of which are used on programs that serve local beneficiaries.

Our very first initiative, the Butterfly Program, was launched in 2016 to address the long-waiting time for Child and Adolescent Psychiatric Services in Hong Kong public health system for children from low-income families. Butterfly Program provides timely assessment to these children who are suspected of mental illness and offers free medical treatment during their long waiting period, thereby capturing the important “golden window” of early intervention. To date, the Program has helped over 1600 cases and their families; yet the scope of and demand for clinical mental health services continue to grow (Details of Butterfly program can be found here).

The years of 2019 – 2021 have seen unprecedented challenges facing our youths and the most disadvantaged young people are often the hardest hit, both financially and emotionally. In 2019, recognising the growing needs of youths from low income families, we launched the Falcon Program which aims to empower these young people to “dream big” and to reach their potentials (Details of Falcon program can be found here).

Our beneficiaries do not live in a vacuum and sustainable changes require holistic support around them. So in 2020 we launched the Youth Ambassador Program whereby school children are invited to be “Ambassadors” in their schools to advocate for those who are less fortunate than themselves. In 2021, we piloted the Care Giver Program in recognition that those who give care also require caring in order to sustain their strengths to continue their responsibilities. (Details of Care Giver program can be found here).

We continue our journey to identify and fill the gaps in unmet needs of those denied access to proper opportunities. Their needs will change and our programs will endeavour to evolve to meet these changes.

We have grown to serve thousands of children across Hong Kong, and in 2019 added a second program to raise young adults' aspirations and nurture soft skills, which are essential for their self-actualisation. Through our programs, our partners and volunteers form a community which steps in to save, transform and enrich lives, from medical support to training and education and beyond."

How it all began

As an international institution, Variety sprung from a single act of kindness into an ambitious, transformative philosophy.

Initially founded as a social club in 1927 by a group of 11 theatre owners and showmen in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania in the United States, the so-named Variety Club evolved into a charity during 1928 after an infant was found abandoned in a theatre. ​

When all efforts by the police and local newspapers failed to locate the parents, the club members decided that they would underwrite Catherine’s support and education and the Variety Club was born.

Almost one hundred years later, their inspiration has given rise to organisations across the world, who identify opportunities for intervention at the heart of children’s needs. We develop transformative changes that evolve with local dynamics, and we aspire to release the maximum potential of children everywhere.

​For more details on the story of how we came to be, please click on the video, or visit the Variety International website.

GET INVOLVED

Make a difference today.

Never before have so many kids needed so much help and support. Join us in improving the lives of children living with disabilities, disadvantage or illness in Hong Kong.

歷史

維樂天

Variety – the Children’s Charity Hong Kong Limited (Variety HK) is a registered charity (91/14278) and the local chapter of 維樂天, an international charitable organization, which operates in 14 countries with 45 offices.

維樂天(香港) 由香港一群志同道合的專才於2015年創立。他們來自各行各業,卻有一個共同的願景:無論人生路上面對多少障礙,每個孩子的未來都應該充滿無限可能。於是他們從歷史悠久的國際慈善機構維樂天取得網絡成員資格,期望在香港建立當地網絡, 維樂天, and built a local “tent” here in Hong Kong.

我們的目標是要找出弱勢兒童及青少年最迫切的需要,為他們提供不同的機會,並協助他們發揮所長、盡展潛能。維樂天一直貫徹取於斯、用於斯的精神,從本地籌得的善款均全數用於服務本地群眾 。

2016年推出的蝴蝶計劃,是維樂天首個項目,目的是疏導香港基層兒童及青少年公立精神科醫療服務輪候時間過長的問題。透過蝴蝶計劃,懷疑受精神問題困擾的兒童及青年能在漫長的輪候期間,及時得到早期評估和免費治療,把握關鍵的治療黃金期。目前,蝴蝶計劃已幫助超過1,6 00名病童及其家庭。然而,基層兒童及青少年對精神科門診服務以及診治範圍,需求日益增加

The years of 2019 – 2021 have seen unprecedented challenges facing our youths and the most disadvantaged young people are often the hardest hit, both financially and emotionally. In 2019, recognising the growing needs of youths from low income families, we launched the Falcon Program which aims to empower these young people to “dream big” and to reach their potentials ((按此了解鷹越計劃)。).

我們的服務對象每日面對生活帶來的各種挑戰,需要全方位的適時支援,方能為他們的生命帶來可持續的改變。因此,我們於2020年推出青年大使計劃,邀請學生擔任「大使」,在校內為弱勢學生發聲。2021年,我們亦開始試行照顧者支援計劃,鼓勵照顧者照顧自身的健康,與他們一起 肩負照顧患者的重任

我們不斷前進,在填補服務空隙的同時,並為幫助基層兒童 獲得應有機會。面對他們不斷變化的需求,我們的項目將持續進化,與時並進。

自成立以來,維樂天積極擴展規模,至今已服務數以千計的香港兒童。2019 年,我們成立第二個全新項目,協助青年樹立更遠大的志向及培養 技能,讓他們實現自我。透過這些項目,我們的合作夥伴和義工建立了一個緊密聯繫的社群,為孩子提供醫療支援、培訓以至教育等,從而拯救生命、改寫生活、豐富人生。

故事由此開始

作為一家國際機構,維樂天的故事始於一顆 善心,轉化成更為遠大的理念,致力帶來變革。

起初,維樂天只是一個社交俱樂部,於1927年由11個劇院老闆和表演者,在美國賓夕凡尼亞州匹茲堡成立。直到1928年,成員於劇院內發現了一個棄嬰,維樂天俱樂部才演變成一個慈善機構。

當時警察和本地報章用盡辦法追尋棄嬰父母的下落,但一直杳無音信。於是,俱樂部的成員毅然決定承擔起教養孩子的重任和開銷,維樂天 隨之誕生。

近百年後,受到他們啟發而在世界各地成立的機構不計其數,眾機構都針對孩子最迫切的需要,尋找機會提供服務。維樂天的服務旨在帶來改變,並因應社會狀況與時並進,力求幫助各地的孩子發揮最大的潛力。

有關我們的發展故事的更多詳細信息,請點擊視頻,或訪問 維樂天的國際網頁

你的參與

改變從今天開始。

從來沒有這麼多孩子需要這麼多的幫助和支持。加入我們,改善香港殘疾、弱勢或疾病兒童的生活。